As of the first of January any doctor in Massachusetts can now write a recommendation for a patient who seeks marijuana for medical purposes.
However, no dispensary exists to fulfill that recommendation, but that hasn't stopped a California company from opening this week a medical practice that will focus only on writing recommendations for medical marijuana.
Renee Nunez told NECN Tuesday, "People have been calling since November."
The ; which still has not made public, for fear of more issues.
Even on the CannaMed website and its Facebook page, it still lists its only location in Massachusetts at 945 Concord St.
CannaMed physicians don't diagnose illnesses, they base their recommendations off of pre-existing conditions. Patients are asked to bring or submit their medical records.
If CannaMed approves a patient for medical marijuana use they write a recommendation and charge $199.
"It allows you to posses, to cultivate for your own supply, and allows you access to treatment centers and dispensaries when they do open," Nunez told NECN.
The Massachusetts Department of Public Health has been given oversight of implementing the rules of the new medical marijuana law, which takes effect in 2013, including how patients can get the drug.
Framingham Town Manager Bob Halpin said the Massachusetts Municipal Association (MMA) estimated the Health Department's rules & regulations may come in April, but the MMA was recommending everything be delayed until July 1.
CannaMed does not sell marijuana or even direct patients to where they could get it. They also don't do background checks. An individual with a prior conviction for distributing marijuana would not necessarily be ruled out, reported NECN.
Massachusetts voters overwhelmingly approved a ballot question in November 2012, that made the Commonwealth the 18th state to legalize medical marijuana.
Beginning in 2013, patients with HIV, multiple sclerosis, hepatitis C, or other very serious and painful conditions can now obtain a card from the state permitting them to purchase and possess up-to a 60-day supply of marijuana.